De-worming my family – you should too!

Deworming.1

The incident I’m about to share with you is true,for my family’s sake I’m glad I never forgot it as it occurred months before I even fell pregnant.

My previous employers had both their kids at a very prestigious private school.One morning they were called to the school as the children had to have trauma counseling after witnessing a classmate having what looked like an epileptic seizure and passing out right in front of them.
The little guy was rushed to the nearest hospital,after many tests were run and the standard EEG were done all the parents were updated and notified of his  progress and prognosis.
The little boy didn’t have epilepsy but had worms – a worm so large it actually grew upward and when it hit the brain caused him to have a seizure.

When I was little it was standard practice to be de-wormed. I often ask friends and other moms at the nursery school if they de- worm their family and it seems I’m very much alone when it comes to this issue …..until that is I tell the above story.

Our pediatrician recommended we de- worm every 6 to 12 months especially since we have pets. So every 6 months the whole family from dad to dog (mom,kids and nanny included) are all de- wormed on the same day/week.

I was recently thanked by a mommy of a 3 year old after I told her this story. She de- wormed her family and was mortified with what she saw came out of her little one.

So you see , de-worming is not just for rural African countries or townships.

Consult your doctor / pharmacist before you de- worm for advice on which product is best for your family members.We use Vermox as its even safe for my little guy who has epilepsy.

The Vermox Australia website is ideal for parents looking for information on De-Worming

http://vermox.com.au

Footnote:
The incident above is not fictional.the above de-worming issues are my opinion on this subject.
The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical examination, diagnosis and formal advice. I accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.All pictures used from from the Vermox Australia website.

Leave a Reply

